Opportunity Rising: August 22, 2014

91486638.kC5dRSAv.DesertSunrise_79993

At the end of the day yesterday, I was extremely discouraged, frustrated, and depressed.  I woke this morning, leaning towards another day of the same.  But I stopped myself.  I pulled myself back and straightened myself out.

At the end of the day, it’s hard to have the strength to pull yourself out of a negative spiral.  Like any bad habit, the best option is not to get started in the first place.  It’s actually easier to avoid a negative spiral than to escape one.

Every morning, I try to start with intentions.  How am I going to live this day?  How am I going to interact with others?  What do I expect my day to look like?  (Here’s a hint: if you start the day thinking, today is totally going to suck?  You have pretty much written the script.)

Every afternoon, I name five things I’m grateful for as I drive home from work.  I try to avoid statements like “I’m so grateful work is over for the day,” because those just have the exact opposite effect from gratitude.  I do much better with statements like “I’m grateful for the beautiful weather.”  “I’m grateful for my tribe, especially my wife Kathryn.”  “I’m grateful for my ability to face life with a sense of humor.”  These generate more gratitude, and really help clear out the dust of a difficult day.

It’s Friday, and most of you are probably already feeling good.  But if you’re not, take a moment.  Decide what kind of day you’re going to have, then set about creating it.  And when the day is done, be thankful for the day you’ve had.  It will really make a difference.

So much love and light to you all–

Deb

2 responses

  1. It is as if you were looking over my shoulder when getting your thoughts together for this. I give thanks, but more informally…at the moment.

  2. Barbara, if I don’t do it ritually, I don’t remember to do so. I have a tendency towards flightiness, so I depend heavily on routine to keep my on track. (Don’t take me wrong–I LOVE my flightiness, but it can be problematic.)

Leave a Reply

