I Know We Can, I Know We Can…

Can you imagine how great our lives would be if we were all endowed with endless supplies of determination?  Not confidence, not self-esteem, not genius or great ideas, but raw, stubborn, straight-forward determination?

As I look over my life, I realize that pretty much all of the disappointments and regrets I have stem from giving up.  While every choice I’ve made has ultimately led me to the person I have become (who is, by the way, pretty darned awesome), there will always be a part of me that wonders what might have happened if I’d just stuck things out through the hard times.

But this goal I have now, this need to be part of the solution to the problems facing our world?  This is one thing I can’t give up on.  I can’t back out, even when things get hard.

None of us can. 

I know it gets hard sometimes, dealing with the hate and the Stoopid and the waste we see every day.  It gets hard fighting the good fight, when most people around you seem to be just coasting through on the status quo.

How easy it would be to just let go, ignore the problems of our world, and leave it to somebody else, right?

But I am not that person, and neither I suspect are you.  You wouldn’t be reading this post if your Give-A-Damn was busted (as the song goes).  You wouldn’t have made it this far without rolling your eyes and going back to your Candy Crush addiction.

So, we’re not those people.  We can’t help but push towards a better world through whatever means we have at our disposal.  It may seem uphill all the way, but we keep slogging forward.

And when the climb seems too steep and too long, just remember the only step that matters is the one you’re about to take. 

Keep fighting the good fight, my friends.

Deb

P.S. If you know somebody who may need a bit of encouragement, please feel free to share this post with them. Chugga-chugga-chugga-chugga….

Leave a Reply

