Opportunity Rising: August 10, 2014

91486638.kC5dRSAv.DesertSunrise_79993

Sundays have always been problematic for me.  No matter what was happening, Sundays–especially Sunday afternoons–would always fill me with a sense of dread.  I know in retrospect that it was my subconscious mind preparing for the reality of Monday morning, whether that morning would lead to school or work.

I have lost so many Sunday afternoons to depression.  I have slept through so many Sundays trying not to feel, because I didn’t want to dread the inevitable result of going to sleep and rising again to face the school or work week.

Lately, though, I’ve been making a concerted effort to reclaim my Sundays.  Sunday is not MondayMorningPrologue.  It’s Sunday.  It’s its own animal.

So how do I keep the dread of Monday morning from ruining my Sunday?  By reclaiming Sunday–right now, this moment, this experience.  Mindfulness.  Being in the present.  There is no future.  There is no past.  There is only right now.

And the funny thing about doing this?  When I remember to let Sunday be Sunday, Monday is often not nearly as awful as I expected it to be.  By letting Sunday be Sunday, I effectively let Monday be just another day (without the weight of an entire Sunday’s worth of angst wearing it down).

What are you going to do today?  Are you going to worry about Monday?  Or are you going to let Sunday shine through?  I hope you have an amazing day.

Love and joy to you–Deb

P.S. If you want some help with developing a sense of mindfulness, here is a great resource for getting started.

Leave a Reply

