Admin: Hellos, Hiya’s, and Where’s She Been??

First of all, let me apologize for being such a slacker on this blog! July and August have just been crazy, and I don’t expect it to lighten up soon. To new followers who found me through Mother Mayhem’s post, thanks for your interest in my blog! I hope to be back into consistent posting soon. Until then, here is a rundown of my schedule for the next couple of months.

August

I am working on a full-length non-fiction book called “Joy in the Workplace: Loving the Work You Do, No Matter Where You Work” for entry in the Hay House Non-Fiction Book Contest. It’s been a trip writing this—I’ll let you know how it works out.

Early September

My official author blog, deborahbaudoin.wordpress.com, will be going live early this September. It will be mostly writing-centered. I am also launching joyintheworkplace.wordpress.com, which will focus mainly on…well…joy in the workplace! Both blogs are set up, if you’d like to follow them. I’d really appreciate if you sign up for updates!

August 31 – September 3, 2012

Fey and I will be jetsetting over to our old stomping grounds in Phoenix, AZ to attend Coppercon 32. Our dear friends Chris Dickenson and her husband Patrick Connors are Filk and Fan Guests of Honor, and they’ve invited us to join in the fun. Chris and I were part of a filk group in the 90s called “The Duras Sisters.” We made a couple of CDs (Masquerading as Human,
Rubenesque, and Young Klingons in Love: The Duras Sisters in Concert at Westercon) and met some pretty famous science fiction actors in the process! (That’s us below with Star Trek: Deep Space Nine‘s Rene Auberjonois! He looked pretty nervous there, but was awesomely kind and complimentary after our show!)

I will be backing Chris up in her GoH concert with a bunch of musically-talented friends. If you happen to be in Phoenix, drop by Coppercon and say hello. Fey and I will be participating in panels and filks—I may even premiere a new song!

Here’s my panel schedule:

Filk Concert – Sun 5p

Social Networking Impact on Writers – Sun 7p

Updating Classic Fairy Tale Characters – Sun 8p

Author Reading: Fairville: A Bayou Haunting – Sat 7:30p

Lifehacking – Sun 11a

 

October 2012

I will be releasing my new novel, Fairville: A Bayou Haunting, on Amazon this October. Set in post-Katrina Louisiana, this haunting tale pits four very different women against the very forces of nature as they try to unravel the mystery surrounding the ghostly appearance of a Victorian woman named Suzanne Gisclair.

 

Halloween Week

Fey and I will be traveling to New Orleans to celebrate Halloween with old friends and family. It’s been almost six years since we’ve been home to Louisiana, and we plan on having a blast while we’re there.

 

As you can see, it’s going to be a busy couple of months, but I’ll try to keep in touch. I’ve got a whole bunch of exciting ideas for 2013 I can’t wait to explore. Until then, stay safe, stay strong, and keep striving upwards!

 

Joy to you,

 

Deb

2 responses

  1. Wooohooo I get to see you both twice! At the con & your visit to nola! I’m so excited!!! Oh yeah looking forward to the books coming out too lolol

    1. Dawn, Fey and I are both so excited at the prospect of seeing you again! Hopefully we can get together in NOLA, too. We should be in town on Halloween–maybe head out to Pat O’s to see Joel Jambon perform!

Leave a Reply

