Awesome New Life Plan

Well, after four and a half decades on this here planet, I’ve finally come up with a plan for my life. It’s pretty straightforward and, I think, fairly achievable. In a nutshell, my plan is:

Be Blissfully Happy

That’s it. I know it sounds kind of simplistic. I mean, where are the charts, the five-year-plans, the concrete goals suitable for visualization? Where are the lists of contacts, the weekly to-do list, the daily affirmations?

Nope. I got none of that. I tried that, and all I got was depressed. So here’s the plan again:

BE. BLISSFULLY. HAPPY.

That is the end and the means, the only purpose, the only goal I have in my whole life. How I get there is up to me and the Goddess, and I’m only included in that list as a courtesy.

When you come down to it, I suppose this is the most realistic life plan I’ve ever had. Unlike my previous plans, this one needs no outside contributions. There’s nothing to buy, nothing to learn, no one to convince. All the tools I need to accomplish this goal are at my fingertips, and they don’t even require instructions. Let’s break it down, shall we?

BE – Well, as long as I’m alive, I can’t exactly not be, can I? I am. I exist. Step one, complete. As long as I continue to take breaths, I’m a third of the way toward my goal. The act of being also insist that I focus on the present, because that’s the only place I can be. I can’t be in the past–that’s memory. I can’t be in the future – that’s imagination. If I remember to be where I am, not regretting the past or worrying about the future, I take a boatload of stress off my shoulders.

BLISSFULLY – Filled with bliss. Not as straightforward as the first one, but still fairly obvious. To be blissful is to fill yourself with bliss. How do I do that? Well, anything that does not contribute to my bliss is to be left on the doorstep. To the best of my abilities, I only choose ideas, activities, thoughts, and things that bring bliss to my life. Anti-bliss is strictly verboten, as it is counterintuitive and also unpleasant to deal with. But wait, you ask? What about that job? What about those bills? What about those extra pounds and the aches and pains and grey hairs springing out like weeds from your scalp?  Fear not.  My plan works perfectly, even with all these so-called troubles.  Why?  Read on.

HAPPY – Happiness is, and always has been, a choice. It is a by-product of the thoughts we think and the focus we maintain. Every single moment, I’ve got the opportunity to be happy. I don’t have to be ecstatic, or even in a place I want to be. I might be in a traffic jam or at a boring job or sitting in a plane in front of a screaming baby. But I choose whether to be happy or to be annoyed. Remember the old question, “Would you rather be right or happy?” To me, and in the context of my life plan, that’s a no-brainer. (You’d be amazed at how many people I’ve asked this question who insisted they’d rather be right.)

So that’s my plan. Be blissfully happy. Everything I do, every choice I make, from this moment on, will be heading toward that goal.

I can’t fail.

Leave a Reply

