What Happens When Your S.O. Wants to Be A Life Coach

My better half, Fey, has a dream. She wants to be a life coach. And, in my humble opinion, she’s going to be a dang good life coach. She has a knack for helping people find their dreams and giving them the courage to go for them. When she is fully trained and certified, she’s going to be amazing.

Until then, I am her guinea pig.

Like today….we’re sitting in Barnes & Noble, enjoying the air-conditioning, comfy chairs, and complimentary Wi-Fi connection. At one point in the game, I finished this week’s post for Ten Thousand Soapboxes and asked her to read it. She gave me a bit of feedback, I did some revision, and she pronounced it good.

Then she told me to let a complete stranger read it.

Two minutes later, I was sitting in my comfy chair as a nice lady I’d never before met read my post and gave me feedback.

It was agonizing and exhilarating at the same time. It also led to a wonderful conversation with a stranger about values and child-rearing and self-esteem.

It was also a lesson in putting myself out there. It’s always safe and lovely to have a friend read and review your work. But there is an even bigger thrill when someone with absolutely no connection to you is inspired by and interested in your work. Granted, this wasn’t a scientific experiment, but it was nice to be out of my comfort zone for a change.

With Fey, my comfort zone is rapidly becoming a thing of the past. Thank goodness.

Leave a Reply

