In My Quest for Universal Domination…

For years, I’ve been making a list of things I’m going to do when I finally become Ruler of All Things. It’s a tough job, but I think I would be right for the job. I’m a people person, I learn quickly, and I’m really motivated to do a good job. It’s occurred to me that I might not be as far along my path towards becoming Empress of the Universe as I’d hoped I would be in my 40s. I’ve decided to do a bit of reflection and take stock of my situation.

First, I can’t blame anyone for my lack of utter power and control. Blame is a pointless thing, especially when directed at somebody. How many times have I blamed others for my fears, failures, inadequecies, and insecurities? Even worse, how often have I blamed myself? Seriously, does blame ever work? Ever? So I think one of the new policies I will put in place for my campaign is “No Blame EVAH.” When something goes wrong–that’s just how things are–there will be no period of blame allowed. Not even a short one. Blame takes energy away from finding solutions, and that is just a waste of resources.

Secondly, I need to narrow my goal into bite-sized chunks. As nice as “Become Supreme Empress of the Universe” looks on a 5 Year Plan, it really is too broad a goal to be reasonable. So, how about this–I focus on some of the basic goals on my way to Supreme Power. Become financially stable. Improve my health. Get my career in gear. Each of these things will get me nearer to my ultimate goal–the house, the car, the fate of worlds in my hands…

Finally, I need to be kind to myself. I realize that Alexander the Great was like, 20, when he ruled the Known World. Good for him. Great for him. But I am not Alexander the Great, or Elizabeth I, or Perez Hilton, and my quest for domination of the hearts and minds of all will not follow the same paths as theirs did. I must blaze my own trail, in my own way. And I must be gentle with myself when it doesn’t happen as quickly or as dramatically as I had hoped.

I will indeed become Empress of All Things, simply because it’s the right thing to do. But in the meantime, I’m going to take it easy, enjoy myself, and let things happen as they do. Until next time,

Namaste,

Deb

2 responses

  1. I have to remember to read your work more often – when I do any doubt that might have crept in flows away in moments…
    You have such a deep well of talent to draw from – drink and dream deeply.

  2. Thanks–you know I appreciate you so much.

Leave a Reply

