Can you draw this turtle?

Remember a billion years ago when Art Instruction Schools used to put those ads in the back of magazines? You may have the aptitude to be a Serious Artist, so apply to our school and we’ll Make You Famous(TM).

Sometimes that’s how I feel about writing.

Can you write a sentence? Have you had a single good idea in your life? Subscribe to this blog/magazine/online course/writers conference, and we’ll Make You an Important Literary Figure (or, we’ll Make You Filthy Rich, take your pick).

At some point in my life, I thought, wow, I tell a really mean story. I Should Be A Writer.

Then reality hit. This isn’t just aptitude. There is a lot more that goes into writing professionally than just telling a kick-ass story. The more I read, the more I learn, the more I realize that I have to learn about the craft of writing.

Oddly enough, instead of making me depressed and discouraged, I find this incredibly exciting. As I pore through the pages of books on the mechanics of producing stories, I find myself more enthusiastic about writing than I have been for years. AND I’m actually writing–not just reading.

It’s a good day to be me. It’s probably a good day to be you, too. Especially since you were kind enough to read this post. (Yeah, I’ll suck up for readers. I ain’t shy.)

3 responses

  1. You know, you made me a promise – now I’m going to make you one.
    You told me I could spend anything I needed to in order to develop along my path.
    I now make you the same offer – if you need to buy books, enter contests (Please tell me you already did that), etc let me know and I will find a way to juggle our needs with our current budget.

  2. I’m a writer, and I’m married to an artist (who can draw turtles, and more) — and what it takes is what you’re talking about: perseverance, practice, hard work, time, getting up after you fall down, hope, imagination, constantly learning, a willingness to adapt and change as well as the fortitude to stand your ground, and just keeping at it. Most people talk, but they don’t do. Good for you, that you’re doing.

    Thank you for your recent visit to my site and for subscribing to Middle Aged Plague.

    1. Middleagedplague, thanks so much for your comment and encouragement. I haven’t even looked at this blog in ages, and now I’ve gone and spent almost an hour reading every post. My writing is like my singing and my exercising–I’ll be very gung ho for a while, then it will peter out and go on the back burner while I pursue another passion. Right now I am coming back around to the writing aspect–mainly because for the first time in a long time I feel I have something to say worth reading. I’m focusing on Ten Thousand Soapboxes. I think I may consolidate these two blogs–there’s actually some very good stuff here. 🙂 Thanks again, and it’s nice meeting you. Deb

Leave a Reply

